top of page

How Did You Get Here?


MY MORNING CUP OF COFFEE – “And the Lord said unto him, what is that in thine hand? And he said, A rod.” EXODUS 4:2

This morning I woke up with the thought "How did you get here?” Last night I was able to get some much needed reading done while listening to the sing off. In doing so the thought came to my mind "How did you get here?" Remember the old Debra Cox song? When Debra sings it, I believe she is talking to an old love or maybe even herself. However, she recognizes that she is facing a love thing that she gave up a long time ago. She says "I did this love thing for the last time". Then she says, but you came along and changed my mind". Meaning I let you back in. I imagine that Debra wakes up one morning and she has an epiphany. It could be that she fell in love again after thinking she would never fall in love again or; that she allowed someone back in her life that she declared would never be in her life again. Not sure really. There could be so many different scenarios. However, this morning I was asking myself "is this really where I wanted to be at 53?”

I'm not saying that I don't enjoy my life or that I'm not where God intends for me to be. Simply, I realize there is so much more in my heart and mind (which are one) to do. That is the challenge; you can be quite content waking up every morning doing what you do. Getting up, going to bed day in and day out doing the same thing. However, in that place, if you're not willing to confront fears that you left or explore those things you have always thought about, you can become stagnate and begin living what I would like to call a complacent life. It is one thing to be content because this is it, there is nothing else. And, it’s another thing to be content while perusing or preparing for other goals and aspirations. So ask yourself; "How did you get here, and how long do you intend to stay here?”

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page