top of page

ARE YOU MY FRIEND OR MY BROTHER (SISTER)?


MY MORNING CUP OF COFFEE: “A friend loveth at all times, and a brother is born for adversity”. Proverbs 17:17

Recently I was asked if I thought it was ok to be friends with a non Christian. The question first suggests that I am in a position to say who is a Christian or not. However, in that instance I answered from my heart. Obviously I said yes, that I believe in life we are always operating from one of two positions, giving or receiving, and since with “lovingkindness I draw”, I am reminded of Proverbs 19:6 that reads “ Many will intreat the favor of the prince: and every man is a friend to him that giveth gifts.” Are you a gift giver? In other words in a friendship with a person that “you believe” is not a Christian your position may change because you become the giver “of life”. In that scenario according to the biblical reference, friendship is inevitable. Not totally at ease with my response I searched the scriptures. In my research I realized that when Paul told the church to “have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness”(which is the scripture presented to me when the question was asked); he was actually referring to the man that calls himself a Christian but practices ungodly acts. The Apostle Paul explains the distinction that he draws; He says, if a person who belongs to the Church becomes guilty of evil practices, the church is not to have any fellowship with him at all. Why? Because more is expected of him! I believe this means that if I confess one thing, and do another, a relationship or fellowship with me is difficult because I am a liar. Therefore, my representation of who I confess that I am is not true. How can you form a friendship around that? There will be those who agree with this cup of coffee and those that don’t. But I submit to you that I have several friends that do not confess Christianity and they are among my best friends. The bible tells us to work out our own salvation. Our Lord was called ‘the friend of publicans and sinners.’ He sat with them, He ate and drank with them; they drew near to Him and He did not refuse them, He did not reject them; He mixed with them, He spoke to them; yes, but He did it in such a way that He had no part in their unfruitful works. In other words, as our Lord sat there and mixed with the publicans, they did not indulge in evil and foul things around Him because there was something about Him that prohibited their negative behavior. I call it respect because He represented truth. What does your life style suggest? The thing is I can be friends with anyone who is drawn to me. The question is from what position am I a friend?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page